QUEENSLAND and NEW SOUTH WALES RIDERS SPLIT HONOURS AT 2025 AUSTRALIAN JUNIOR MOTOR CYCLE DIRT TRACK CHAMPIONSHIPS

Queensland shaded New South Wales for honours when the 2025 Australian Junior Dirt Track Championships were hosted by the Kurri Kurri Junior Motor Cycle Club at their Loxford Park Raceway on Saturday and Sunday of the Easter weekend.

Across the nine championship classes there were three of the 2024 champions who retained their titles, two Queenslanders scored two class wins of the five victories for that State while two host club members were among the winners.

None of the class wins came easy, even though in those classes decided by a final after four rounds of heats only once had the eventual winner not been at least the equal topscorer form those heats.

Two days of exciting action again highlighted the great pool of young talent coming through the dirt track ranks and confirmed that junior racing is a very watchable spectacle.

The older juniors invariably attract the most attention and the 13 - U/16s did not disappoint.

Mike Hatcher club rider Jake Paige from the Gold Coast won the 85cc 2str. / 150cc 4str. class, beaten only once in the rounds and then romped away in the final ahead of a great tussle between local Bodie Cardinale and Preston Craft to decide the minor placings.

Paige went on to make it a double taking out the final of the 200 – 250cc 4str. class, despite having been the seventh top qualifier behind defending champion and unbeaten top qualifier Neiko Donovan.

While Paige was soon in the lead Donovan recovered from a not-so-good start to finish second after a great battle with Jed Fyffe, Thomas Gotts and Hugh Hope-Hodgetts.

Jedd Fyffe flew the Albury-Wodonga flag with a dominant performance to claim the 100 – 150 2 str. class, ultimately leading home Neiko Donovan, Thomas Gotts, Hamish Bibby and Tommy Wright in the decider.

The younger age groups provided the other dual winner as Cooper Quinn, also from the Mike Hatcher club, who claimed the 50cc Auto 6 - U/9 and 65cc 7 - U/9 classes – the first of them backing up his 2024 victory – both of them with an unbeaten run.

Oscar Borella from Albury- Wodonga and Hudson McConnell from Gold Coast each grabbed a second place with Townsville rider Ryder Smith third in both.

The two host club riders who claimed championship wins were both unbeaten throughout, one of them making it back-to-back title wins.

Ruby James continued her domination in the 150cc 2str / 250cc 4str 13 - U/16 Girls class despite having to chase down Townsville rider Mia Blackford in several rounds.

In the 85cc 2str / 150cc 4str 9 - U/13 class Kaiden Lantry was one of two riders who were unbeaten in the rounds, but he was the one who reproduced that form in the final to lead home clubmate Braxsen Anderson and Griffith rider Jye French.

Gunnedah rider Hugo Holmes also successfully defended a 2024 victory in the 85cc 4-str Modified 7-U/12 class winning all but one of the rounds to outpoint Flynn Beard from the Panorama club and Mason Wild of Forbes.

The other champion to be crowned was in the 65cc 9 - U/13 class where Ipswich rider Kru Tulloch, who had been one of three equal top qualifiers, won the decider ahead of Braxsen Anderson and 2024 winner Riley Holder of the Macleay club.